Building Duplicacy from Source using Microsoft Azure Devops Pipelines

I recently wanted to build duplicacy from the latest commit on the master repository. I am a .NET guy so I did not have any go tools installed on my PC, so I figured I would experiment with using Azure Devops pipelines to build it for me. I thought I would write this up to share my experience.

DISLOSURE - I have zero experience with go, and have only a cursory knowledge of the go commands run as part of this pipeline. This was only an experiment and I wouldn’t recommend using this for a “production” system unless more experienced devs can chime in. All that said, this build process resulted in an exe that ran just fine on my PC and I was able to run test backups and restores with no issue.

Azure Devops
Just some background, Azure devops is similar to github in that they host free git repositories and have CI/CD tools. It’s completely free, at least for this scope. Assuming I’m not doing something terrible with building the exe I don’t know about, this could be a really easy and quick way to build from source without needing to install all the go tools locally. I highly recommend checking it out, github is better for pure source control but azure devops has some awesome CI/CD features. The basic process goes like this:

1. Clone duplicacy github repo into an azure devops repo
  2. Create a build pipeline specifying a series of go get, go mod, and go build commands.
  3. Run pipeline, download artifact which contains the exe

Steps to Create Exe

1. Open azure devops by going here
  2. You’ll need to create a microsoft account if you don’t already have one, and will be prompted to supply some details if you’re never used the service before.
  3. Eventually you’ll get taken to a screen prompting you to create a new project. A project can have multiple repos and pipelines. Choose between public or private and enter a project name.