My concern is that a restore operation may be left running unintentionally when you close the restore page.
So what happens if a restore that is going to run for ~10 hours overnight is started from a remote client, and then one logs out, ending the browser session?
While this could happen, I think giving the user the option to choose it prudent. As gorlen said, some of us have big datasets that take a while to restore. Being able to set it and then forget it would be really nice, even if it’s not default.