Download doesn't run

Sorry search is not working. I just downloaded Duplicacy for Linux. I have Mint. I have no idea but guess the correct one is X64???

But when I downkload I get a file called /home/paul2tbdisk/Desktop/duplicacy_web_linux_x64_1.5.0.

I click it but am told there is no program to run it.

(I am new to Linux).

Also, my VPS host is taking care of setting up the backups to Wasabi and he asked me to use Duplicacy to test restore to another account.using that account’s control panel. (So I guess I do not need a license as my host has a license. Am I right?) Thank you.

You need to make the file you downloaded executable to be able to run it. run this in the terminal: chmod +x /home/paul2tbdisk/Desktop/duplicacy_web_linux_x64_1.5.0. Then you can run it.

Yes, restore does not require a license.

Ah, thank you. That worked!!! I wonder why Linux doesn’t just download an executable file btw? Like MAC or Windows.

On windows there is no special flag that can be set on a file identifying it as “executable”. Instead, Windows relies on a file content and/or extension (leaving out ACLs here). On *nix and derived systems (Linux, FreeBSD, macOS, etc, pretty much all the rest) — there is. An executable file can be a posix executable, or a text file script, that specifies interpreter in the first line, etc.

If you download a file on a macOS you won’t be able to run it just the same as on Linux.

Moreover, Safari will add “quarantine” flag to it as internet is considered unsafe source and you likely wont be able to open in any other app either.