Help needed with prune

Hi all,

I’m new to Duplicacy and wondering if someone can help me out with the prune option.

I backup once a day and I want to keep one backup for 30 days, then keep one backup at 30, 60 & 90 days.

What would my prune option look like?

This is what I came up with:
-keep 90:0 -keep 60:1 -keep 30:1 -keep 1:1

TIA

I am pretty sure this is incorrect on several aspects, at the very least you’re reversing numbers in the notation. What you want is something like this:

-keep 0:90 -keep 30:30 -keep 1:1

If you’re doing daily, the last part (-keep 1:1) is not necessary.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply. So, if I’m doing daily backups and want to keep 30 days worth of backups and one at 30 days, 60 days & 90 days would this be correct.

-keep 0:90 -keep 1:60 -keep 30:30

TIA

You don’t need the -keep 1:60; the 30, 60, 90 days interval is already handled by the -keep 30:30. This is how you should read the each parameter:

-keep 30:30      # Keep a revision every 30 days for revisions older than 30 days

Where the first number is n or interval (gap between consecutive revisions to keep), and the second number is m or age. The various keep's must be sorted by decreasing age.

So as you’re doing daily backups, this is enough:

-keep 0:90 -keep 30:30

Though keep in mind your 90 day old backup will suddenly get deleted (after it reaches 91 days age) and then your oldest backup becomes 61 days old. If you want to keep a backup that’s always at least 90 days old, consider changing the first -keep 0:120 or longer.

De-duplication should keep the storage size down. Many of us have much longer retentions, and personally I don’t delete anything not even have 3 years or so.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your explanation. It’s taking me a while to get my head around the prune option, but I will get there.