How to backup to multiple storages needs updating

From what I can tell, the add command requires a storage name, snapshot id, and the target URL. The existing post on “Back up to multiple storages” (which is linked on the User Guide page) does not show using a snapshot-id.

I’m also not clear why a snapshot-id is required when making a COPY and bit-identical additional storage. What is the snapshot-id used for in this case?

Also, reading through the different pages, the concept of using rsync/rclone seems to indicate that if you add the additional storage that way, you can then ONLY rsync the “chunks” folder to keep it consistent? Is that accurate?

I am no expert at this, as I am also new to Duplicacy and in the trialing phases and working through the issues.

But I think a few answers to your questions for you to consider :-

1. The “snapshot id” in the add command and the “repository_id” in the Back up to multiple storages page I assume you are referencing are the same thing. It might be a little less confusing for newbie’s if the terms in the documentation where consistent to avoid confusion.

2. The “snapshot id” or “repository_id” is needed to uniquely identify the particular repository that is being backed up at the remote storage. It is needed because not only is it possible to backup a repository to multiple storages (eg a local storage and a offsite storage), it is also possible to backup multiple repositories to a single storage location. And in fact this is sensible to do if for example you want to get the benefits of deduplication across multiple repositories, or in fact multiple different repositories on different computers. Ie if you are backing up computer “x” and repository “a” AND computer “y” and repository “b”, to the same storage, you need the “snapshot id” or “repository_id” to uniquely identify the separate backups.