Missing chunks in initial backup

backup
webdav
prune

#1

Hello, sorry for maybe already answered question, but I’m not sure how to proceed.

Today I completed upload of backup to WebDAV on Synology over internet,
sadly check is showing up error chunks referenced by some snapshots do not exist in the storage:

Running check command from C:\Users\user/.duplicacy-web/repositories/localhost/all
Options: [-log check -storage storagename -a -a -tabular]
2018-12-27 17:37:13.950 INFO STORAGE_SET Storage set to webdav://account@domain:5006/folder
2018-12-27 17:37:15.164 INFO SNAPSHOT_CHECK Listing all chunks
2018-12-27 17:37:30.338 INFO SNAPSHOT_CHECK 1 snapshots and 1 revisions
2018-12-27 17:37:30.341 INFO SNAPSHOT_CHECK Total chunk size is 139,166M in 28963 chunks
2018-12-27 17:37:31.175 WARN SNAPSHOT_VALIDATE Chunk e95452ef2e8de8e44353a035f00a553e121566f59e1f11318cc8f5bcd7fbf0cb referenced by snapshot Y at revision 1 does not exist
2018-12-27 17:37:31.188 WARN SNAPSHOT_VALIDATE Chunk 00521b24c76e7a8be61b063435e3fbbb86ce701c8e49a52028afbb5d55c199fd referenced by snapshot Y at revision 1 does not exist
2018-12-27 17:37:31.211 WARN SNAPSHOT_CHECK Some chunks referenced by snapshot Y at revision 1 are missing
2018-12-27 17:37:31.211 ERROR SNAPSHOT_CHECK Some chunks referenced by some snapshots do not exist in the storage

I did try to search for those files (even with parts of file names and wildcard) but there are not there.
And I sadly did not have enabled WebDAV loging on Synology

I already created copy of backup folder on Synology, so I’m able to experiment:)
But I do not know how to proceed, I would like to continue the backup without reupload.
I think I can’t remove last revision without -exclusive , but -exclusive will delete all uploaded data?

What can I do please?
Can i somehow delete revision 1 without deleting all uploaded data?

Thanks


#2

There’s a couple ways you could do this.

The easiest is to delete the backup ID (it won’t delete anything off the storage) and recreate it with a different ID. A new backup revision 1 under a different ID will be created and most of the chunks won’t have to be uploaded. Later, you could delete the old snapshots/id from the storage and run a prune with -exhaustive.

If you want to keep the ID, just delete the snapshots/id folder on the storage (which has a file called 1 in it). Then, when you run a backup, it should see there isn’t any existing revisions and make a new revision 1 - again, most of the chunks should already be there.

Edit: some clarity


#3

Thanks! I did not know that deleting something manually from backup location is “supported” way of fixing things :slight_smile:

I deleted file 1 from snapshot folder and run backup again.

 INFO BACKUP_STATS File chunks: 39152 total, 191,949M bytes; 2 new, 16,556K bytes, 16,618K bytes uploaded
 INFO BACKUP_STATS Metadata chunks: 4 total, 8,188K bytes; 2 new, 5,316K bytes, 1,388K bytes uploaded
 INFO BACKUP_STATS All chunks: 39156 total, 191,957M bytes; 4 new, 21,872K bytes, 18,006K bytes uploaded
 INFO BACKUP_STATS Total running time: 01:05:27

Afte that, check is reporting INFO SNAPSHOT_CHECK All chunks referenced by snapshot Y at revision 1 exist

So thank you @Droolio very much!
I’m marking you’r post as a solution.