My working backup set up for Unraid

Hi guys,

I use UserScripts to prepare/back up appdata (Dockers) and domains (VMs) and then i use Duplicacy to make backups. In Duplicacy i can then restore different versions from a dropdown. This way i can restore specific docker/VM back to Unraid.

I’m an newbie at Duplicacy, Unraid, rsync and tar so maybe this it totally wrong but it works for me.

Please tell me if you have some idea’s on how to improve (or maybe tell me to scrap it all :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:)

DOCKERS

#!/bin/bash

# Get all running containers and store them in $CONTAINERS
mapfile -t CONTAINERS < <( docker inspect --format='{{.Name}}' $(docker ps -q --no-trunc) | cut -c2- )

# show in logrun
echo "Appdata backup started - Starting to shut down dockers"

# Show notification in Unraid (alert, warning, normal)
/usr/local/emhttp/webGui/scripts/notify -s "Notice [Script] -Appdata backup started" -i "normal" -d "Starting to shut down dockers"

# Stop all running containers
for container in "${CONTAINERS[@]}"; do
  echo "Stopping ${container}..."
  docker stop ${container} 1> /dev/null
done

# show in logrun
echo "Dockers shutted down. Starting backup"

/usr/local/emhttp/webGui/scripts/notify -s "Warning [Script] -Appdata backup running" -i "warning" -d "Dockers shutted down. Starting backup"

# Backup appdata
echo "Backing up /mnt/user/appdata/"
rsync -a --delete /mnt/user/appdata/ /mnt/user/backups/appdatabackups/

/usr/local/emhttp/webGui/scripts/notify -s "Warning [Script] -Appdata backup running" -i "warning" -d "Backup done. Starting dockers"

# Start all containers that were previously running
for container in "${CONTAINERS[@]}"; do
  echo "Starting ${container}..."
  docker start ${container} 1> /dev/null
done

# show in logrun
echo "Dockers started. Starting to tar files"

/usr/local/emhttp/webGui/scripts/notify -s "Warning [Script] -Appdata backup running" -i "warning" -d "Dockers started. Starting to tar files"