Requesting Synology Guidance

First, a quick background

• I’m currently migrating my media server / homegrown NAS from Ubuntu over to a Synology DS920+ (4GB RAM, but planning to upgrade)
  • Been using Duplicacy (mainly CLI) for several years and very happy with it
  • I’m a complete Docker novice but managed to stumble thru standing up a container for OpenVPN and Transmission (still beaming with pride over that)

So two questions…

Docker vs Native

I’ve read thru many posts discussing ways to deploy using Docker and I also see SPK’s for Duplicacy on DSM v7. Props to @saspus for all the detailed information.

I understand that this may come down to a matter of personal preference, but is there a consensus on the preferred deployment method? I’m coming around to the conclusion that the value of a Docker deployment is somewhat limited vs the straight-up package install.

Getting a good, clean system backup that can actually be used in the event of a system failure/reset/fatal operator error.

On Ubuntu, I was grabbing a snapshot of the system partition, tossing that image on the shared files drive and including it in the Duplicacy backup process. That saved my rear end more than once.

What is the recommended method to capture (hopefully most) everything so that DSM could be recovered back to a pre-FUBAR state with a minimum of manual rebuild?

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

As a former synology user I must give you this advice below:

If you have already bought it and can’t return – too late, but if you haven’t or can – do, and get DS1618+ or newer in the same lineup. It’s slightly more expensive but orders of magnitude better. I can find and link you to a series of reddit posts that go into details.

DS920+ has half of ram soldered, so your upgrade options are limited. You can stick 16GB there, hoping it will match internal ram specs, and get 20GB total, but that’s about it. It’s one of the many reasons this appliance is not worth spending money on.