Restore single directory to clean state

Hi! I’ve been using duplicacy for a some time now, for the last 4 years actually. It’s been a great tool with marvelous backup speed. However, I’ve never had a true disaster recovery use case until yesterday, and I wasn’t able to solve it to my liking. So I am wondering if there is a workflow that solves my use case elegantly.

My situation can be described as:

• My duplicacy repository is my home directory
  • Inside my home dir, there is a folder called photos. It holds about 100GB of media files.
  • I was about to start a bulk renaming job that changes the naming schema of all .jpg files in this directory.

My order of action was this:

1. I realized there was a lot of room for mistake ahead, so I created a duplicacy revision before embarking on my journey (revision 100)
  2. I then started the renaming job, but due to an unhandled edge case, about 20% of the photos received a bogus file name.
  3. I only noticed the error after creating a new revision 101.
  4. So now I’d like to restore the photos directory to the clean revision 100 via duplicacy restore -r 100 -delete -overwrite "photos/*"
  5. According to the documentation, the restore command ignored the delete option as I gave a filter pattern. However, that means duplicacy just restored the clean state into the faulty state, and 20% of my photos are now duplicated with different names.

What I was expecting is a workflow similar to a git reset --hard: That my photos directory gets restored to the clean state of revision 100. How could I achieve this? Of course I could have completely wiped the photos directory beforehand, but then I’d have to download a whopping 100GB when restoring from revision 100.

Any guidance appreciated!

I think it’s a bug.

Duplicacy should still honor the -delete flag within the scope of the filter: if the existing file on disk matches the filter, does not exist in the revision, and -delete is specified — it should be deleted.