Restore suggestion and comment

restore

#1

I’m testing 2.1.0 Beta 6. Today I tried my first restore operation.

Suggestion: The GUI does not seem to offer the ability to restore a backup to a different folder on my PC. I think such a feature would be very useful.

Comments: Without the ability to restore to a different folder, I decided to test the restore function by deleting just a few folders and files from the source folder (the repository) on my PC and then running an all-files restore. I was pleased to find that Duplicacy identified and restored only those files and folders that were missing. The whole operation took less than a minute. Good! It would be nice, I think, if an ending dialog appeared that said something like, for example, “Restored 4 folders and 10 files.”

I tested again, this time on a different repository with no changed files. The restore process completed very quickly as expected. But it just ended without any displayed result. It would be nice if there were a dialog saying, for example, “No files found to restore,” or similar.

On the other hand, as I continue to use Duplicacy I may get used to its minimalist user interactions.


#2

You can restore to a different folder – you just need to create a new job using the destination folder as the repository. Then set up the same storage as the original repository, but on the dialog where a generated repository id is shown to you (on top of a password input if the storage is encrypted), select the original repository id from the dropdown list. This way you’re basically creating a duplicate of the original repository and now you can restore any files. You can even do this on a different computer.

I’ll update the user guide once the 2.1.0 version is out of beta.

As for the restore process, I agree that there should be a dialog when it completes.


#3

If I may resurrect an old thread… when I’m restoring files from a backup, I almost always restore them to a staging directory first, so I have everything (new and old) in front of me, to better figure out exactly what I have and what I want to do with it. It seems weird not to have that option.

As a workaround, in the GUI, it would be nice if there were a “Duplicate Job” command so that we don’t have to re-enter the storage settings. (Especially since B2 won’t tell you your application key after you initially create it, which means since I didn’t write it down, I have to go create a new key for the new job!)


#4

This sounds like a great idea and i think you should create a new topic in #feature about duplicating an existing snapshot config to a different folder.

This will apply to the web-gui, not the exising one which i suppose will be scraped in the future!