RSA Encryption Use Case - what is RSA overhead?

I’m new to Duplicacy and was reading through the docs trying to understand the use case of RSA encryption. While I understand that it adds an extra layer of protection (in that the private key can be kept entirely separate from the backup) I cannot seem to understand any other real use case for this behaviour.

Reading through the docs/posts, I ran across the use case where it would allow multiple untrusted sources to backup to the same Bucket. While that is great, it also means that no untrusted source can actually restore any data themselves. It would require only a trusted user to restore the data. Is this a real use case in larger organizations?

On the otherhand, using RSA encryption to encrypt/decrypt the AES keys adds additional processing to the backup & restore process. Have there been any metrics/performance tests to identify the additional overhead that RSA adds?

Are there other use cases that I don’t see/understand?

Thanks,

Eric

1 Like

This is exactly the use case.

I need a critical backup on infrastructure that I cannot trust. With RSA backups can be initiated by a script or untrusted 3rd parties but restores would need my private key, so data is always secure.

This is very usual actually.

Hope this helps.

Actually that explanation helps a lot; thanks. At least I am starting to understand the benefits of RSA.

The biggest advantage that I saw was that using multiple sources to the same bucket helps with storage costs in that the more data that you backup to a single location, the greater the chances of deduplication, at the cost of limiting the restore ability to a single trusted entity. Otherwise, you could simply backup to independent buckets couldn’t you (at the cost of managing different buckets and encryption keys/passwords for each independent infra).

Thanks,

Eric

You are mixing two features:

This is related to deduplication :point_up:

and this is related to RSA encryption :point_up: