I’m using Duplicacy CLI 2.2.1 on Windows 10. I’ve been backing up my user directory which contains many hidden symlinks windows uses to maintain backwards compatibility with older versions (e.g. user/Application Data).
I don’t mind this too much, however, when a snapshot is restored these symlinks are recreated pointing to live data locations. You need to be very careful when managing the restored data because deleting it with a recursive delete operation can result in actual live data getting wiped out since symlinks are pointing there.
Going forward, I’d just like to exclude these symlinks from my backups. I’ve added the necessary exclude filters and verified Duplicacy is ignoring the symlinks them with -enum-only. The problem I’m running into is that they are still restored when I restore a snapshop that was backed up after updating the exclude filters.
Running a list -files command on the lastest snapshot revision does not show the smylinks at all. However, when I restore that revision they are still recreated.
How is it that the symlinks are not getting listed in the file list but still being recreated after a restore?