Thank you all and so long! - At least for now

I’ve decided to change my backup scheme and wanted to say thanks and goodbye to the team here.

I have happily used Duplicacy since 2018 and it is a great tool. I’ve used it to backup a PC, two macs, and two NAS volumes to Backblaze B2 that whole time. Luckily, I have never needed to do a restore, outside of a few test files.
My thanks the @gchen and the team, and especially @saspus who always seems to quickly answer questions here!

Why am I leaving? Well, I’m a retired hardware engineer, and while I can deal with some software stuff, it’s always a bit of effort for me. I think Duplicacy works best for people who have strong software / script / command line skills and sometimes I struggle with that stuff. My most significant complaints are about the lack of built in notifications when backups fail. I’ve had several failures where backups stopped and I didn’t notice for months. (Yeah, yeah, I know I could set up notification emails somehow… but that is more software details.) I think the suggested solution for the last problem I had, was to compile my own version of the software with fixes built in. Not as easy for a hardware guy, but possible. If people are more curious about issues I have had they can just search username in the forums.

I’m going to try using Synology’s suite of tools, using the “Drive Client Backup” to backup the household computers to the NAS, and then using “Hyper Backup” to backup the NAS to Synology’s C2 cloud. Their cloud is more expensive than Backblaze B2, but setup is much easier. For me, I think using products all from one vendor will help keep things simpler. Maybe. :wink:

Who knows, maybe I’ll be back in a few months. I won’t delete and close my Backblaze B2 account for a while just in case.

Thanks again!
Carl

1 Like