TrueNAS Scale: Dynamic hostname

I’ve recently moved my primary NAS to TrueNAS scale. I’ve got Duplicacy working in a docker container, but I believe in TrueNAS this is managed by Kubernetes under the hood.

I managed to transfer my license, but I’ve since found that the container hostnames are dynamic. Every time I restart a container, I have to deactivate my license. The only alternative way I can see to solve this is to run Duplicacy in VM instead… however I believe it will then be backing up from Samba mounts and that doesn’t sound like a reliable mechanism.

How have others resolved this problem? I must admit it does seem a little silly that the other problem I’m having with running it is the licensing.

I have no experience with Kubernetes, but it looks like you can set the hostname: Is it possible to set a hostname in a Kubernetes replication controller? - Stack Overflow

Although it’s an old topic, for me it is still current.
The advantage from TrueNAS Scale is, that I don’t have to struggle with Kubernetes, but I can use a frontend where I can manage Apps (see this site for a quick overview Apps | (truenas.com)).
So I can’t just change the hostname and it is not needed in all cases except this one.

Again I had several days without backup because after a restart of my server, the hostname changed and I’m back to “unlicensed”.

Any way to get Duplicacy to work within this use case?

I’ll be honest, I spent a while trying to work around this. I was happy to pay for the service, but when I entered my nth hour of debugging what is effectively a licensing issue, I gave up.

I’m using borg now.

Duplicacy was great, but I couldn’t make it fit TrueNAS. Maybe the landscape has shifted. I’d be happy to revisit.

Hey all,

Just wanted to chime in as I found this thread attempting to set up @saspus’s duplicacy-web on a TrueNAS Scale installation.

I too had issues with dynamic hostname.