Can't restore my broken external harddrive

I’m really a novice in the duplicacy and restoring business, så I’m kind a lost here. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

In the Duplicacy Guide (Duplicacy User Guide) it says that I can restore to a different directory/computer by creating “a new repository using the destination directory, and the same storage”.

And that’s what I thought I had done!? But so far without any luck.

What I’ve tried so far is the following:

1. Created a new job
  2. In “Repository” I entered the location of the new folder on a new external disk
  3. In “storage” I chose the BackBlaze B2-bucket where the backup (619.7 GB) is located.

But when I then click “Restore”, I get an error message saying: “No previous revisions found”!

Any idea what I’m doing wrong?

In advance: Thanks
Laurids

I am not using the GUI, but this is what i expect to be needed:

• use the same storage (backblaze in your case)
  • use whichever local folder you want to restore to (duplicacy won’t complain)
  • use the same repository ID (snapshot ID) you used when backing up.

I think you might have used a different repository id when you set the new folder.

1 Like

Dear TheBestPessimist

Thanks – and forgive me if I might not understand.

When I create a new job, I have to fill in two things: “Repository” and “Storage”:

• Storage: I use the same storage, just as you suggest
  • Local folder: Where is that? Where and how do I choose which folder to restore to?
  • Repository ID: In the Repository field I have to choose an existing folder, but the original folder is on the damaged external drive, and hence unavaliable.

???

Regards

@gchen, could you help here please?

From that screenshot, i guess that what you did in the OP is correct.
In that case, can you go into backblaze folder > snapshots folder and tell me what it contains (it should be some folders), and also what each folder contains?

Lastly: can you also update to latest duplicacy version, 2.1.1?