I’m looking for something that will provide something akin to tape backups like:
- I take a full backup of the filesystem (call this Backup 1) to an S3-compatible online storage
- I take incremental backups every hour for the next one year (call these Backups 2 - 8,760)
- During the time of the incremental backups, there will be files deleted from the source
- Ability to restore all files up to a specific revision #, meaning all files, even if they were not backed up specifically in that revision.
Setup: I have a single backup job configured in the Web GUI that is running hourly after the initial large backup completed. There is no purge configured – just the single backup job. All of the hourly backups are running quickly and updating the destination correctly, it appears.
Q1: Is there any note of those files being deleted in the Duplicacy repository?
Q2: If I restore to some incremental version, like 3,500, will all of the files backed from revision 1-3,500 be restored (knowing, of course, that any files overwritten, only the newest up to version 3,500 would be restored)?
Q3: If I did that restore, to revision 3,500, would all of the files that have been backed up between revision 1 and 3,500 be restored, or only those in that specific revision (which could be just a single file)?
Q4: Important If I restore all files, at revision 3,500 (in hopes the answer to Q3 is that it will restore all files backed up…up to revision 3,500) to a new location, will files that have previously been deleted also be restored, even though they had been deleted in the source?
Q5: What role does Purge play in this? In my circumstance, I’m thinking no role because I do not want any data removed from the destination specifically – only that the data won’t be restored if it has been locally deleted.
Ultimately, the goal here is a backup that holds onto deleted files but won’t restore them if they’ve been deleted. This allows me to restore a file that someone deleted but doesn’t realize it very quickly. But also allows all deleted files not to be restored if there happens to be a catastrophic event and the total backup needs to be restored to a revision.
Thank you for this fantastic community. I have done a lot of searching, and it doesn’t seem like these specific questions have been answered yet – or I was not able to find them. I did find this: