How to run duplicacy as a cron job on linux?

preferences
scripting

There are certainly many ways of doing this but here is how I managed to schedule duplicacy on a Linux server (Ubuntu 18.04).

(If you know a better/different way, please add it! Or if I made a mistake (I’m not a Linux expert!), please correct it.)

To start with: I’m running duplicacy as root so that I can backup files from different users in the same backup. If you are just backing up files from a single user, you can probably save yourself a lot of trouble by not using sudo.

1. Initialize your repository (mine is called NAS)

cd /srv/NAS/
sudo duplicacy -d init -e NAS webdav://<myusername>@webdav.pcloud.com/Backup/Duplicacy

Make sure you adjust the working directory and the init command to suit your needs.

You will probably get some errors like

Reading the environment variable DUPLICACY_WEBDAV_PASSWORD
Failed to store the value to the keyring: keyring/dbus: Error connecting to dbus session, not registering 
SecretService provider: dbus: DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS not set

Just ignore them and enter the requested passwords (which will trigger another error, but we’ll tackle that in the next step)

2. Save your passwords into your preferences file

sudo duplicacy set -key webdav_password -value "this is my webdav passphrase"

sudo duplicacy set -key password -value "this is my storage passphrase"

This is probably not the most secure method, but I couldn’t figure out how to get environment variables to work with sudo… I guess security is okay, since only root has access to the preferences file)

3. Setup your filters file

See this topic on how to do this.

There shall be no step 4 in this tutorial :laughing:

5. Run your first backup

Before running the backup automatically, I like to text it manually to see that things are working fine:

Doing something like

sudo duplicacy -log  backup -stats

you should not be asked for any password.